In this small Alaskan town, 5 COVID cases meant an immediate lockdown


The Illinois Department of Public Health on Tuesday announced that Health Regions Eight and Seven will be under new COVID-19 restrictions beginning on Friday. Region Eight consists of Kane and DuPage counties and Region Seven includes Will and Kankakee counties. The two regions are seeing test positivity rates of over eight percent.

Regions Seven and Eight are joining Region One in Northwestern Illinois and Region Five in Southern Illinois in restrictions. Region Five restrictions are set to go into place on Thursday. Region One has had restrictions in place since earlier this month.

The restrictions include the shuttering of indoor service at bars and restaurants, limiting the gatherings to 25 people or less, and closing gambling establishments by eleven at night.

Sugar Grove St. Senator Jim Oberweis says the one-size-fits-all approach being employed by the Governor will hurt businesses. He thinks the state should rethink how it targets its COVID-19 mitigations to keep more small businesses open.

Governor J.B. Pritzker says that businesses in regions with additional COVID-19 restrictions will get priority consideration for Business Interruption Grants available from the state.