WCSJ Photo

WCSJ Photo

Thanks to the generosity of LyondellBasell, a kickoff breakfast was held to formally recognize and congratulate the 25 students selected for the 2022 Grundy County Internship Program. 

Nancy Norton, President and CEO of the GEDC opened the event by thanking the businesses, students, and educators in attendance.  Dr. Kent Bugg, Superintendent of Coal City Unit District #1, and Sarah Jane Wrightson, Manager of Rehabilitation Services at Morris Hospital, spoke to students about program benefits and opportunities.  Bugg challenged students to take advantage of the opportunity, while Wrightson addressed the values to local businesses taking part in the program. 

Senator Sue Rezin and the GEDC partnered with local industry and education, in 2013, to launch the program.  Rezin also spoke to students, emphasizing taking pride in being chosen, for this opportunity, as these internships offer a chance to gain meaningful professional work experience, as well as, learn about the many different employment options, within Grundy County.  

Offering a diverse set of opportunities, to selected students, the program continues to grow more competitive.  Beginning with just 12 internships and 3 companies, this year saw more than 60 students apply, for one of the 25 positions offered, within 11 companies. 

The Grundy County Internship Program was based on mutual desire, of leaders in education and industry, to highlight local employment opportunities and retain local talent, in Grundy County.  Below is a list of this year's recipients and respective hiring companies.

  • Aux Sable - Jacob Conroy, Grayson Weber
  • Chamlin & Associates - Blake Huston
  • D’Arcy Motors - Jonathan Henson, Josh Wright
  • GEDC - Sophie Pfaff
  • Joliet Junior College - Caden Hennessy, Robert Osborn
  • LyondellBasell - McKenzie Collins, Riley Dehler, Joshua Gunther, Georgette Shugart
  • SPACECO - Alec Ferrari
  • The Newberg Group - Shaela O’Keefe, Reagan Robson
  • US Cold Storage - Matt Dailey, Brynlee Reed, Emily Saavedra
  • Village of Minooka - Katie Tropp
  • Morris Hospital - Sophie Hipes, Madelyn Pilch, Sydney Roberts, Joseph Albano, Kylee Claypool, Collin Dames