photo from GCSD

Three elected officials were sworn in at the Grundy County courthouse on Monday morning.

Grundy County Sheriff Ken Briley spoke during the ceremony.

Briley has announced that his Chief Deputy will be John Nicholson and Deputy Chief will be Eric Werden, who worked the past 20 years at the Morris Police Department.

We spoke to Nicholson, who recently retired from the Flora, Illinois Police Department. Nicholson said his past 12 years as Flora Police Chief will help the Grundy County Sheriff’s Department.

Also sworn in was Grundy County Clerk Kay Olson and Treasurer Lori Werden who both retain their positions in the past election and have been elected since 2014.